Victorian Repeats at The Great Southern Slam


The biggest roller derby event in the world, The Great Southern Slam, took place in Adelaide, Australia over the weekend, bringing together 45 teams from across the Asia-Pacific region to compete for the third tournament title. The teams were broken into two divisions – 21 in division 1, 24 in division 2 – and in both divisions, competed in pools to progress to a single-elimination division title bracket.

Both the 2010 and 2012 Great Southern Slams featured a Victoria / Sun State grand final and when both sides put up 400-point margins over their opponents in the quarter finals, it was clear that a repeat was likely. Sydney knocked host side Adelaide out of the running in the quarters while Canberra took down Paradise City.

Victoria handily defeated Sydney in the semi-finals, 353-71, while Sun State had a tougher time with Canberra, coming away with a 176-100 win. New WFTDA #10 team Victoria then took their third consecutive Great Southern Slam title, taking the crown with a much narrower than expected 197-168 win over Sun State, while Canberra took third place.

In division 2, Queensland’s Reef City Roller Girls took the title over South Side Derby Dolls.

About The Author


Rollin News Author

Share what you think

Add comment

Please Login or Register To Add A Comment