“Shock Down Under” kicks off this weekend!

This weekend the New York Shock Exchange kicks off its historic Shock Down Under tour! For the first time, a men’s team from the Northern Hempisphere, your very own New York Shock Exchange, will be traveling to the Southern Hempishere to play roller derby. The first game will be against Varsity Derby League’s Capital Carnage on Saturday, January 10 at 3:00pm local time (NOTE: 11:00pm EST, Friday, January 9 / 4:00am GMT, Saturday 10 January). The game will be held at the Bont Invitational in Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia.

Help support this effort to grow the support of roller derby and get some snazzy, limited edition goodies here.

There has never been a Australia-MRDA face-off so it’s a bit of a toss-up how this will go. The Shockers do have quite a bit more experience so they are probably the favorites for these all of these incredible battles on roller skates

Additionally at the Bont Invitational, the Shockers will play in a showcase exhibition bout, featuring skaters from around the world, on Sunday, January 11 at 1:00pm (9:00pm EST, Saturday, January 10 / 2:00am GMT, Sunday 10 January) .

Tuesday, January 13 NYSE plays a doubleheader in Brisbane beginning with an exhibition bout against Sun State Roller Girls Swarm at 6:00pm local time (3:00am EST, January 13 / 8:00am GMT, 13 January) followed by Brisbane City Rollers Scartel at 8:00pm local time (5:00am EST, January 13 / 10:00am GMT, 13 January). Wednesday, January 14 the Shockers host the first of their bootcamps.

On Friday, January 16 the Shockers land in Sydney to take on Tasmanian Mens Roller Derby’s Bass Straight Brawlers at 5:00pm local time (2:00am EST, January 16 / 7:00am GMT, 16 January).

Saturday, January 17 begins NYSE’S two-day bootcamp; and at 6:00pm local time (3:00am EST, January 16 / 8:00am GMT, 16 January) NYSE skates the final game of the tour against the Sydney City SMASH.

 

Shock Down Under Tour

About The Author

Bio:

Rollin News Author


DERBY TODAY
Comments
Share what you think

Add comment

Please Login or Register To Add A Comment